You can delete your Twitter account in a few easy steps, but it is vital that you are choosing to permanently delete your Twitter account for the right reasons.
Twitter remains one of the top 3 social media platforms in the world and can be an extremely helpful marketing tool for both small and large businesses.
The Twitter app is used by nearly 400 million people worldwide which means that no matter what business you run, service or product your offer, or who your target audience is, you can find the perfect Twitter users to market to.
At feedalpha, we understand the importance of utilising Twitter as part of your digital marketing strategy which is why we provide quality content and social scheduling tools to help make your life easier, drive sales and grow your brand.
Here is our guide to how you can delete your Twitter account or regain access to your deactivated account.
Common reasons to delete a Twitter Account
There are a few common reasons why people want to find out about account deactivation; they want to close their Twitter so that all tweets and any association with their account are permanently deleted.
However, it is important to understand why you are deactivating your Twitter – here are some of the reasons you may want to tap deactivate on those settings.
Too inactive/don’t use Twitter enough
If this applies to you and you are running a business there are plenty of tools that can help you to stay active and engaged on Twitter, even if you don’t have the time.
Capturing your target audience on Twitter can make a big difference to your business goals so don’t be too hasty in deactivating Twitter. Social scheduling tools like Feedalpha allow you to schedule content ahead of time so that you can organise your content properly in order to gain true results.
If you do not feel that Twitter is the right platform for you or your business then you may want to select deactivate to close down your account permanently.
Your business has closed or you are changing industry
If you have closed your business or you are changing industry you may still want to keep your Twitter account for personal use.
If you already have a good following then it would be a shame to deactivate your Twitter – you can simply change your username and use the account for yourself or give it to someone else for their business.
If you still don’t want to use the Twitter account for yourself or have anyone you can transfer it to, then you can permanently delete the account through the deactivation process outlined below.
You want to erase all previous Tweets and start fresh
Many people think that the deactivation process will get rid of all old tweets so that they can start fresh but this actually isn’t the case. Even after you delete your Twitter account, old tweets can be found in search engines like Google and Bing because they would have previously been indexed.
This means that if someone searches for the tweet or something you wrote, it may appear.
The best way to get rid of all previous tweets from your Twitter account without having to delete the entire account is to use a bulk deletion tool like TweetDelete or TweetDeleter.
These platforms allow you to login to your Twitter account and bulk remove any old tweets, so you don’t have to go through them manually.
You can do this to start fresh on your same account or do so before account deactivation.
Lack of engagement and following
Social media management can be difficult – we know! However, if you are struggling to get engagement or reach goals on Twitter you shouldn’t give up.
You can find digital marketing tips and tricks on our blog here. You shouldn’t delete your Twitter account if you give up trying because you may want to come back to it in the future.
How do I change my Twitter username?
Many people want to delete their Twitter account because they are looking for a new username, but Twitter allows you to change your username without having to permanently delete an account. To change your Twitter username:
- Login to your account- you will need your username and account password.
- Head to ‘Settings and Privacy’
- Click on ‘Your account’
- Tap ‘Username’
- You can type in any username you like here as long as it is not already taken and is under 15 characters
You can try out different usernames in the box; if it is unavailable Twitter will let you know. Once you have chosen your desired username, simply tap ‘Save’ and your new username will have changed.
Will people be able to find my tweets on the Internet once my account has been deleted?
On Twitter’s help centre, you are informed to ‘Keep in mind that the words you write in your Twitter profile or public Tweets may be indexed by Google and other search engines, and cause your profile or Tweets to come up in a search for those terms.’.
Occasionally old information may still be available to view, even if they have been deleted – but if the links are clicked they will usually not work which means the tweets can only be viewed from the search engine itself.
You can find out more about Google Search visibility here.
How to delete your Twitter account
It is a good idea to download all your old tweets and keep them on file before you make this move. Head to Twitter archive where you can download all the posted content once you have provided the correct account information.
To deactivate Twitter on desktop, use the following steps:
- Login to your Twitter account
- In the left-hand menu, click on ‘More’
5. Click on ‘Deactivate Your Account’
On this page, you will find account deactivation information, such as which information can be viewed on search engines like Google and Bing, as well as more on downloading your Twitter data.
- Open the Twitter app on iOS or Android
- Tap account you want to access
- Tap on your profile photo in the top left-hand corner
- Scroll down the menu and tap ‘Settings and Privacy’
- Head to ‘Your account’
- Click to ‘Deactivate your account’
Can I get my account back once it has been deleted?
When you click deactivate on your account, Twitter will let you know that you have up to 30 days to restore your account if you accidentally or wrongfully deleted it.
This means that you can log back into your account for up to 30 days after deactivating, but once the 30 days is up you will never have access to that account again.
Feed your followers with Feedalpha
feedalpha is a social media scheduling tool that will help you to boost your social media engagement, schedule your content to Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn, as well as provide you with a feed of content to share with your audience.
You can try Feedalpha out for free, without any credit card requirement – so why not sign up today!
In the digital age, having a strong online presence is crucial for entrepreneurs and small...
Diving Into LinkedIn Groups: Can a LinkedIn Business Page Join Groups? Let's be real. Most actions...